quick and dirty

A few weeks ago I spent the weekend with my nieces…it just happened to work out that my sister and I swapped kids-my daughter enjoyed a trip to Ottawa, embracing all that Winterfest has to offer. I on the other hand was able to hang out with my two older nieces,relaxing and catching up.

Naturally I took a modest selection of knitting with me…several socks-vanilla, and a few patterned ones. I worked a little on a mosaic cowl, but it didn’t hold my attention for too long. I made a few feeble attempts on the socks but to no avail, my heart just wasn’t feeling it…you know what I’m talking about, my itch wasn’t being scratched. I needed to have something on the needles that was quick and dirty, something that in the end would make me feel like I’d actually accomplished something!

Fortunately, as any knitter worth her wool does; I had thrown in some random balls, just in case.

I had a ball of pretty fluffy Fleece Artist Peter Rabbit, a beautiful angora blend that I loved working with, along with a rather serious ball of Classic Elites, Princess – that despite all of its seriousness managed to house a brilliant combo of wool,rayon,nylon, cashmere and angora!!

2015-02-26 09.45.42

Combine this with the fact that I had a niece that made happy sounds when she saw the fluffy goodness, I now felt a strong obligation to turn said random balls into something marvelous! Suffice it to say I cast on and by the time the weekend came to a close I was just shy of being done…

This weekend they will be handed over, transformed into a truly awesome pair of mittens…just like that my itch was scratched and all was well with the world.

2015-02-25 09.58.06-1

Leave a Reply

